CAORC/Andrew W. Mellon Fellow, Abdeslam Ziou Ziou, to give virtual talk on March 25


(Note: A podcast recording on the same topic by Abdeslam Ziou Ziou is now available here.)


The Centre d'Études Maghrébines à Tunis (CEMAT) and the Centre d'Études Maghrébines en Algérie (CEMA) are hosting a virtual lecture on 'Berrechid 81. Retour sur une expérience collective à la lisière de l'art et de la psychiatrie' by Abdeslam Ziou Ziou, CAORC/Andrew W. Mellon Fellow in Modern Art History at CEMAT.

The lecture is part of the ‘Health and Humanities in the Maghrib - an American Institute for Maghrib Studies (AIMS) lecture series’ and will be moderated by Samia Henni, Assistant Professor of Architectural History, Cornell University.


The event will take place on Thursday, March 25, 2021 at 17:00 Tunis/Oran Time (12:00pm, EST. | 11:00am, CST. | 9:00am, PST.). The talk will be held in French.


Register here.


The CAORC/Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship is part of the 'Addressing Needs of Arts and Humanities in the Maghrib' project. Implemented by CAORC’s member centers in North Africa: the Centre d’Études Maghrébines en Algérie (CEMA), the Centre d’Études Maghrébines à Tunis (CEMAT), and the Tangier American Legation Institute for Moroccan Studies (TALIM), through a generous grant to CAORC from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, this project supports collaborative research, interdisciplinary training, and professional development opportunities for artists and scholars in Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia.